COMMUNITY REVIEWS
Latest reviews

Feb. 28, 2007

Pluses: Friendly People
Most community-minded Place I've ever been to

A great place to... Raise your family
- Irol

Feb. 25, 2007

Pluses: In the early eighties I worked at The Amax mine whom was the owner/builder of Kitsult. I ventured up the water sheds via kayak and X-country skies during the winters.

A complete novice with much enthusiasum, these moments were most memorable.

Joanne N: if you still have a cabin there please let me know! I would love to visit the area again

Minuses: Working vs playing.

A great place to... To live Walden

Other info: G. Riggins of Prince Rupert weaves a good tale
- MarkMaxwell

Feb. 24, 2007

Pluses: They have a great comunity that makes everyone feel welcome . love the lake and friendly people.

Minuses: The only problem that sandy lake has is that they have no place for campers to stay and use the beach area.
The only place is Ed Venture Bay . And if anyone who has ever stayed there would say it is a beautifull location just get rid of the land owner.
Most people that I've talked to would love to stay at sandy lake but the comute to the lake for the camp ground is to inconvinent when you have young children a boat and pets and a wife that hate packing and unpacking .

A great place to... Yes its a good place , but you as town people need to look at ways to increase bussness all year long just not the summer mounths .

Other info: The Co-op , the Dolar store and the hardware , the hotel all have great people working and promoting the comunity great job . Wish I could find a place to stay there .
- wandalyle

Feb. 23, 2007

Pluses: god house prices

Minuses: good and very cold wheather
- sis

Feb. 22, 2007

Pluses: Incredibly scenic artistic village close to Algonquin Park. Located in the beautiful Wilno hills, surrounded by lakes and rivers. Ideal for hiking, biking, canoeing, swimming, cottaging. Quaint village with two great restaurant/pubs, amazing little shops and galleries and artist studios.
Beautiful outdoor heritage park, church, historic cemetary. Wilno is colourful, quaint, friendly, hip and happening. Wilno is perfect for a day's visit....see the sights (don't forget a camera) visit the museum, explore the shops, chat with the locals, have a great lunch...maybe stay for dinner and take in some music which happens almost daily in summer.

Minuses: We're a tiny place so don't expect malls and big town amenities.

A great place to... Experience a historic authentic artistic village with creative friendly artists and shopkeepers all happy to tell you about our area. Lots of music and art exhibitions and special events. Gorgeous scenic lookout to picnic or go for a swim at the Polish Riviera (Wadsworth Lake). We are Canada's first Polish settlement and if you have Polish roots, this is a great place to explore. Visit the beautiful twin spired church high on the hill. See authentic Wilno furniture. Hear birdsong on a quiet hike through the valley. Find old railway artifacts along the old railbed. Listen to the little waterfall. Take pictures of wildflowers. Eat perogies. Eat organic salad. Eat maple pumpkin cheesecake. Eat cabbage rolls. Dance all night at Tuesday bluesnight. Come for Vittles and Fiddles early dinners in summer. Buy an original painting...or a print...or a card. Enjoy the gardens. Meet an artist...or two or three. Eat lunch on the patio. Come for our church Chicken Supper. Visit our studio tour.

Other info: www.wilnovillager.on.ca
www. wilno.org
www. wilnostation.com
www.wilnogardengallery.com

Most places open daily in July and August. Some closed early or midweek in May, June, Sept and October. Restaurants open daily in spring, summer and fall. Restaurants closed on Monday in January, Feb and March.
- wilnogirl

Feb. 21, 2007

Pluses: Challenging

Minuses: people lack conffidence

A great place to... visit
- bernie1
Pluses: Small town mentality

A great place to... relax
- messe16

Feb. 20, 2007

Pluses: the great river!!! it's beautiful!!!

Minuses: well where do i start...
for one...i hate the fact that they are allowing people to fish at the 9 mile now, which as been protected for the past 25 years and countin'. i think it is one of the worst decisions that as been made in our society! it's a sponing pool...leave them be! i spent my childhood there and don't appreciate what they have done...which i will be trying to change with the help of a few friends and citizens of the community!!! it is nothing but greed!!!
- benzbaby

Feb. 19, 2007

Pluses: That's where I from and there's a Hudson Bay Company building there owned by Robert Hunt of England who married Mary Ebbetts of Tongus Alaska.

Minuses: Controlled by the Bill-31's. We were wiped out by the smallpox during the 1850's from the Hudson Bay Blankets. Now we are little and have no say right now.....

A great place to... Fort Rupert Deer island, if they rebuild the Hudson Bay Company post again it will be a great tourist attractions.
- Buster
Pluses: A great Family orientated place to live.Good weather and beautiful sourroundings.

Minuses: A place where they seem to see just how much Money they can scam from the tax payer.We Had the infracsture but it has fallen to the wayside.People who are suppose to look after it can't seem to work together.Our roads are a mess during the winter Ice most of the time. In the summer some places look like hay feilds.We have on public works of our own and have to reliee on the Municapality of Annapolis to have work done or an over priced local company that has no idea what they are doing.Our water is not fit to drink 85% of the time. Yes for the Countrys Largest Former English speaking Armed Forces Recurit training Base .It has gone all to hell .All because of Greed and Bad judgement. But over all not really a bad place

A great place to... Just to come and vist
- sivastena

Feb. 18, 2007

Other info: never been there. It has to be a good place because I have relatives that use to live their. My g.great uncle was born there in 1891 his name is Albert Myette and his father is Dolphis . Does any one have information on the family. I think I have correct spelling.
- susanmyette
Other info: I can't remember Cheneville, but a lot of my family lives there. My father is moving there in a few years and want to research to see if I want to go too =)
- duncannmonique

Feb. 17, 2007

Pluses: Close to Regina, awesome place, better schools than anything in Regina

Minuses: none
- ziggy99

Feb. 15, 2007

Pluses: Small Town, a place where everyone knows your name

Minuses: Not much to do;

A great place to... Raise a family
- Donnamae

Feb. 14, 2007

Pluses: small, historical town

A great place to... relax, enjoy quiet time
- Solomon

Feb. 13, 2007

Pluses: The people are warm and friendly. Sunsets are brilliant red-orange. Rolling hills of golden grass sweep across the wide open horizons. The stars shine brightly in the clear, dark, crisp winter night skies. The sound of the train is heard aproaching the village. We walk by the grain elevators that stand like giant sentinels of the prairie. We hear the rumble then the whistle as the train speeds by, like a phantom it is suddenly gone into the night.

Minuses: Cold winters ... windchill ...brrrrrr

A great place to... To visit or live. There is plenty to do in Mortlach, especially in the summer. 9 hole golf course , Besant park/campground (a prairie oasis), bird watching, train spotting, hiking, Saturday farmers market. The historic downtown village of 350 has seven shops that cover all that a person needs. My wife and I loved it here so much we moved from BC, Canada. It is truly our 'Prairie Home'.

Other info: www.mortlach.ca
- stubblejumper

Feb. 11, 2007

Pluses: Small town, lots of outdoor activity, beaches, great resturants, pictou waterfront, new glasgow waterfront, festivals, firemans bbq, fireworks july1st, excellent golf courses, bike trails/walking trails, trenton park for cross country skiiing, mini golf, walking, great fishing in the area, boating in the summer, the best pizza!

Minuses: need a bigger mall, maybe a dance club other than Sams and wranglers. Not many jobs outside hospital, kimberley, michelen

A great place to... raise children and retire
- cajun

Feb. 10, 2007

Pluses: The Village of West Bay Road, is the quiets place to live the people are very nice and easy to get along with, I grew up in West Bay Road all my life I love it here. some people don't like it cause it's to quiet but I think it's great.

Minuses: some of the minuses are there's not very much to do here we have our community Fire Department in whick I volunteer in is called the West Bay Road Volunteer Fire Department. and there a post office and a church, and that's about it in our town.

A great place to... West Bay Road is a good place to get a away for a weekend and to enjoy some of the nice weather days that we do have. there are some beaches near by.
- JennyMac20

Feb. 9, 2007

Pluses: Marshall is a wonderful community where you still feel safe letting your kids go out and play with their friends. It has a fabulous small little store and a restaraunt. It also has a credit union, town office, post office, legion, library, and a bar. It is close enough to the city of Lloydminster to reap the rewards of decent shopping but it is also far enough away that it is quiet.

Minuses: The sewer system and water system need to be updated and in the springs travelling in town can be a challenge.

A great place to... Marshall is a good place to raise a family and with the K-9 school right in town it can't get much better than that.

Other info: Come on out and find out all that you need or want to know during our town days and other various celebrations. We'd love to say HI.
- raspberryred
Pluses: Les gens
- madoune

Feb. 7, 2007

Pluses: I was raised on a farm in Chesley district and then we moved to Paddockwood until I was in grade 5. I'd love to go back and visit. My maiden name was Sinden and my Mother's relatives were the Endicotts. Lawrence Endicott had the Experimental Farm.
- langleybc
Pluses: My home town.
The occupants take pride in the town's appearance; there are lovely huge hanging pots of gorgeous flowers on nearly every corner in the summer.

Minuses: Too many stop signs when a 'yield' would do.

Has a hardware store (not naming names, you know which one I mean), whose shelves and goods are so dirty you can get dirty hands and clothing by walking along the aisles.

A great place to... Get away from the hustle and bustle and crazy traffic of the cities.
- LynnIrene

Feb. 6, 2007

Pluses: There is a great community of people in Ingolf. The 30 sites that are there have just incorporated to purchase the Inn, and property from the previous owner. This allows them full control over their future and the future of their families that have grown up with such wonderful memories of Ingolf. The Inn which was open through the summer and some weekends will need to be reborn as a new business. It is now closed for the winter.

Minuses: none

A great place to... What could be better; summers in Ingolf, sun sets on Long Pine lake, and the hypnotic effect of a roaring camp fire. The sound of ice tinkling in your glass. Long quite winter nights. The smell of a wood stove. The trill of a snowmoble ride. Visits from friends and family and the "not a care in the world" feeling you get when you are completely relaxed. It doesn't get any better than this.
Can you think of a better place!
- gfisher
Pluses: its quiet

Minuses: there is no work here

A great place to... retire
- wendyjb
All posts, by month
Post a blog entry by searching for your community!
Also see community blogs
PLACE SEARCH
Community name:

Province:


Include former names
Advanced search
CITIES | COUNTIES | AIRPORTS | CEMETERIES | COLLEGES | LIBRARIES | MUSEUMS | NEWSPAPERS

Powered by ePodunk (tm)
Copyright © 2007 ePodunk Inc. All rights reserved.

ePodunk is not affiliated with any entity represented in its databases. ePodunk also provides links to Web sites presented by government agencies, newspapers, ski areas, inns and other enterprises. The company is not affiliated with these sites, nor is it responsible for their content.
Post cards are vintage images from the early 1900s. They are not intended to depict current views. ePodunk does not sell electronic or paper copies of post cards appearing on this site, nor does it keep high-resolution copies of these images.