COMMUNITY REVIEWS
Latest reviews

Nov. 23, 2008

Pluses: quite

Minuses: some not so nice areas

A great place to... live
- mandamay

Nov. 20, 2008

Pluses: We get parking tickets when we are legally parked in Saint Tite... For sure we have no intentions returning back.

Minuses: We get parking tickets when we are legally parked in Saint Tite... For sure we have no intentions returning back.

A great place to... NO, A TOTAL RIP OFF
- izotte

Nov. 18, 2008

Pluses: Wonderful people and beautiful scenery.

Minuses: All the good shooing and any really fint things to go out and do are about 3 hours away.

A great place to... retire id say!
- GwenHaylee

Nov. 17, 2008

Pluses: small town

Minuses: small town

A great place to... grow up
- Lowe

Nov. 16, 2008

Pluses: the Mandarin restaurant; city programs for children aplenty; outdoor skating rink

Minuses: it's becoming tooo multicultural

A great place to... learn punjabi
- roalgeroc
Pluses: It was a great community to live in. The school was small but we had a great time. The grocerystore/postoffice was small but it had everything you wanted especially if you needed to go and get lunch. It was only a 5 minute walk. We had fantastic cristmas concerts in the hall till one christmas concert the furnace in the basement caught on fire. All the fathers ran down and put it out. There was a church that was said to be haunted...I'm sure that was a myth. All the families that lived in and around Elva were a huge family. Just a few names were the Reddaways, Penners, Bloomers, Roblins. Mr. Roblin was our school bus driver..a station wagon which held all us kids on the west side of the highway. I remember in the winter when the snow was so high. Mr. Roblin could not get the bus down the drive way so Brad... his son. ..drove the ski doo till the drive way and then Mr. Roblin would come and get my sister and myself on the skidoo. Mrs. Roblin was a sub teacher. I loved Elva.

Minuses: There weren't any in my time. except for it was cold winters. I now live in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. where it is warm

A great place to... for small and large families to raise their children. We always had tons of fun.

Other info: Elva was not far from Melita which was a growing community.
- sandiwilliamson
Pluses: beauty, kind folks and many advantages for raising kids

Minuses: isolated

A great place to... relaxe

Other info: an island
- candiphinney
Pluses: hi i am 12 years old i live beside my best friend kassidy green and ya , fleming is very sweet and it is very awesome because u dont have to worry about murderers or retards .

Minuses: uh hitch hikers

A great place to... run around free!
- sydney4555

Nov. 14, 2008

Pluses: Family and Friends that you have there.

Minuses: Nothen' to do out there.

A great place to... Visit.

Other info: I'm from there.
- baymill

Nov. 9, 2008

Pluses: This area has as much as or more sunshine per year than any other location in Canada. Growing season permits excellent gardens. The community has laws included in the original charter that does not allow alcohol sales in the town. This is a very active community with plays, musical events, etc. from a talented group of youth and adults. The high school teams regularly are among the best in the Province. The area was originally settled by Latter-Day Saint (Mormon ) pioneers in about 1905, but there are good relationships among the various religious denominations in the community. There is a large Buddhist community in the town.
Waterton National Park is about an hour's drive from Raymond, and the city of Lethbridge, with a university, many cultural events, and good shopping is about 18 miles away.
Raymond is a growing, vibrant place to live, and a great place to raise a family. Crime rate is very low, and the people are friendly.

Minuses: Limited shopping, cold winters.

A great place to... raise a family and enjoy a rural environment.

Other info: Town population about 3200 but growing. Many new homes being built.
- montmac

Nov. 7, 2008

Other info: I was brought up 3 1/2 miles south of Glen Kerr, and attended the Rolling Plains School. My Parents were Abe & Judith Klassen.

I remember Don & Joe McIssac and John Hamm, from Glen Kerr. I have reached the age where my history has begun to be of interest, but I have found very little so far, about these isolated Little villages and towns we frequented, as children. One such incident comes to mind: My Uncle Martin Klassen lived about 1 1/2 miles south of Glen Kerr, and on Sunday afternoons, while at their house, we kids would walk to Glen Kerr, along the tracks, and disturb Don McIssac with a request to buy candy, etc.

Any information on people and places, between Glen Kerr and Morse, in the 1944 to 1957, would be helpful and appreciated.

Sincerely, with thanks!
Stan Klassen
- Klassen

Nov. 5, 2008

Pluses: I LOVED being a kid in Pinware. We had so much fun and stayed out of trouble at the same time...We played on the "path", upon "Williams Hill" (in the rock cuts)... We climbed the "Head"...which was very dangerous (now that I think back)... I would have chose NO WHERE different to grow up and enjoyed every moment of it.. I absolutely love to visit home and enjoy all the trips I have made back there... (Which is many). The summers were very beautiful (except the flies) especially at the park where we swam, camped, partied...etc...Not to mention Black Rocks where we spent many a summer days swimming..It was such a safe place to raise families and that was the best thing about Pinware, was Family! The scenery is absolutely beautiful! Then there is the Salmon fishing which attracts many tourists...I can go on forever about why I love Pinware and the "Pluses", but anyone who lived(s) there already know's. "YOU CAN TAKE THE GIRL OUT OF HER HOME, BUT YOU CAN'T TAKE THE HOME OUT OF THE GIRL!"

Minuses: I have to say the "Flies" in the summer...Some winters we get too much snow...It is also a little too isolated..You have to go through so much just to get home for a visit...But that's it...(for me).

A great place to... Relax, get away from your busy life and just breathe... the people are fantastic..you'll never be stuck for anything.. Take in the beautiful scenery..You can go berry picking, salmon fishing, whale watching...etc...

Other info: Pinware is a beautiful place to visit...I have met many people from all over the world who still enjoys to come back for there yearly visit...(ie..Sarasota, FL)..There isn't many people left there, but those who are have big hearts and love to see visitors...There is always something to do, suppose it's sawing up the wood, or just visiting with neighbors...Pinware is my home town and always will be!
- PamelaPPike

Nov. 3, 2008

Pluses: it's beautiful country, especially in the summer you have to go to sandy bar...totally awesome!!
- debkir

Nov. 2, 2008

Pluses: 1/ Far awa y from the maddening crowds--
2/ One stop shop for food, coffee, liquor, post office
3/ VERY quiet and peaceful
4/ you can drink from a freah water spring

Minuses: 1/ Boundary road floods outin the spring
2/ needs more culverts and road management
3/ new homes coming into area, take away from quiet
4/ dirt bikes and ATV racing on back roads

A great place to... 1/ hang your hat when you want peace and quiet
2/ get back to nature
3/ getyour mindback after the city

Other info: 1/not far from Huntsvilleif you need the Town atmosphere
2/ great unique shops an dsrestaurants within 1/2 hour drive
3/nice clean beach andwater
- yvetteaube

Nov. 1, 2008

Pluses: Great doctors, nurses, health center. Very active community for sports. Relatively quiet place to raise your kids. Very nice people. The jobs are here, if you want to work in an oilfield related job.

Minuses: The schools are not the best. Big push for volleyball but not much else for sports. Very limited career education for these kids to learn about. It seems like there are a few teachers working at both schools, who really aren't here to teach, as much as they are here to collect a paycheck. There are drugs here, same as in any small town. Can be a bit cliquey till you have been here for awhile and got to know people.

A great place to... Raise your family. Quiet, small-town rhythm. Lots to keep your kids busy with through the year. Beautiful valley and surrounding area. The Alameda Dam Recreation Area is nice.
- chickeepoo1
Pluses: My mother, Elsie Maud Windsor, and grandfather, were born and raised in Tilt Cove. My grandmother, Amelia Jane Bailey, was born in Fogo) .
I have never visited there, but my grandfather, Theophilus Windsor was the foreman of the Cape Copper Company in the turn of the 20th Century, and came to Toronto with his two daughters and two sons in 1916.

My father, Bond Jones, was born in Western Head (Morton's Harbour) of Kenneth Jones and Hannah Taylor.
- patfollett

Oct. 31, 2008

Pluses: small community and accessible

Minuses: too cold, far from big city like toronto

A great place to... fibernate

Other info: small community but lots of opportunity
- northernstudent

Oct. 30, 2008

Pluses: cheap house prices

Minuses: lots of mosquitoes

A great place to... fish

Other info: I actually want to learn more about the town as I am looking to buy a home there....
- wendymay

Oct. 29, 2008

Pluses: Quiet Neighbourhood, Mostly nice people, Helpful people, great variety stores.

Minuses: no good job opportuinities, some vandalism, crappy grocery store, skateboarders all over the roads.

A great place to... raise a family because the school is great.

Other info: Many of the people are very proud to call Lucan their home due to it being such a tight communuity.
- squigglekitten

Oct. 28, 2008

Pluses: mhmmm...good place to make money

quite

Minuses: This town is full of inbreds!!!! I have never experienced such a backward way of thinking...actually i dont even think these people have joined the 21st century. Dont even get me started on the business here and the mentality they have!!

I can honestly say i can count on one hand the intelligent people i have encountered here!!

If you decide to move here...make sure you work out of town alot.

And for the love of god stay away from bank of montreal...especially when concerning a mortgage.

dont say you weren't warned

A great place to... cantons is a good place to eat

when banking choose atb

yup thats it

Other info: Be prepared to be shocked, amazed, confused and all around wondering what the hell is going through most of these peoples head!!! Backwards thinking for backwards people!!
- shockked
Pluses: Gods Country

Minuses: none

A great place to... live and visit
- donaway

Oct. 26, 2008

Pluses: First of all....Newfoundland ROCKS! The scenery in Newfoundland is amazing. Just alone the freedom that I had alone when I was a kid and the children growing. The freedom you can go on an amazing hike anywhere, fishing, quading, ski-dooing and the best part of all.... EVERYONE IS FRIENDLY!!!!

Minuses: There needs to be higher paying jobs to keep people who don't want to leave Newfoundland stay. LIKE ME!

A great place to... live, raise children, and enjoy the wildlife and scenery.
- NikitaRR

Oct. 25, 2008

Other info: We bought the old port elgin high school, we found on your web page. Do you have the original picture? vwmcdon@bmts.com If it had better resolution I'd print and have it framed. Thanking you in advance, wob, or Mark as my mom named me. ( we searched port elgin archives. ) thanks
- wobbly

Oct. 24, 2008

Pluses: friendly people , quiet ,except for cows and dogs the stars are awesome , aside from the fact its falling apart it really is cool , what the town needs is a good mayor and alderman , the school is pretty good as long as you are involved with your kids .If someone built a store added a pool table and video games you would make a fortune as there is nothing and most work out of town so some of the people have money there are about 189 houses with people in it ,and about 25 empty , the power seldom goes out ,sask energy is on top with keeping you plugged in , sasktel phone is a fair deal ,no cable tv no sasktel tv 2 air channels ,ctv and cbc , the water is ok I am not dead yet and I drink a gallon a day the water is treated with chlorine as the pipes are old , there is the bottle building as I call it the sides are covered with old glass bottles in the cement which is cool to see the glass the building needs to be restored would make a awesome busniess

Minuses: curling rink closed used to store stuff, memorial park is falling apart , sidewalks are falling apart streets have over grown weeds ,sports grounds are blocked with iron bars ,nature trail has animal traps ,leg traps according to town workers ,cats require leashes,

A great place to... grow food, retire, breath clean air, cow tipping , run into a ufo , snowmobile or atv , everyone is zooming around , the alderman drive slow and look in your yard all the time so crime is at a low very low

Other info: Has a mayor and some alderman they have 1 part time town foreman and they get the trash taken away , they mow grass . getting anything else done priceless.
- merman1962
All posts, by month
Post a blog entry by searching for your community!
Also see community blogs
PLACE SEARCH
Community name:

Province:


Include former names
Advanced search
CITIES | COUNTIES | AIRPORTS | CEMETERIES | COLLEGES | LIBRARIES | MUSEUMS | NEWSPAPERS

Powered by ePodunk (tm)
Copyright © 2007 ePodunk Inc. All rights reserved.

ePodunk is not affiliated with any entity represented in its databases. ePodunk also provides links to Web sites presented by government agencies, newspapers, ski areas, inns and other enterprises. The company is not affiliated with these sites, nor is it responsible for their content.
Post cards are vintage images from the early 1900s. They are not intended to depict current views. ePodunk does not sell electronic or paper copies of post cards appearing on this site, nor does it keep high-resolution copies of these images.